2011 USA Rifle and Pistol Championships – Day 1

Today was the true start of the competition down here in Georgia.  This morning the woman’s air rifle competition got underway at 8 a.m.  Thankfully, I was on the second relay that began shooting at 10 a.m.

The top score of the day was a 396 out of 400 and that score did not belong to me.  I did shoot well though.  I began with a great sighter period of one 8 and the other 9 shots were all 10s.  Then, I struggled a little with my first few shots, but picked up my rhythm as I progressed.  Near the end though I began to get a little fatigued and it showed in my scores.  All in all it was a good match that began with a 93 then a 95 then a 99 and finished with a 96.  This gave me a total of a 383 out of 400.  I also had 17 x’s.  So at the end of the day I am sitting in 37th position.  This was a far better start than what I had at last year’s nationals by almost 20 points.

I missed making the first relay tomorrow by one point, but that is okay.  I will be shooting tomorrow on the second relay that begins at 10 a.m.  Then the awards will be held at 2 p.m.  From there I will be leaving Georgia, but I will post some more information tomorrow sometime.

~Angelina (Rifle Team member)

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

